[FR] Met by accident on a bike

This morning I was riding and came to a tricky section, and a girl was slowing down in front of me. I told her to take lead, and she told me to, so I did. When we passed the tricky section I slowed down and said that I was glad we’d gotten through there. She agreed and I asked where she’s going. She said yoga (a good sign) and I told I’d been trying it as a supplement to weightlifting. A little too gay and friendly, maybe, but it popped out. We talked about yoga and I told her to wait at the next light, because I want to get her number.

At the light I pulled out my phone and gave it to her and said that life is like waiting at the light: if you don’t act quickly the opportunity goes away.

A pretty basic interaction overall, but her energy was high. I’ve promised myself that I’m going to stop hitting on women and dating for a while in order to recover myself, but this morning I slipped into old habits, but I brought more energy to the interaction than I have in many recent interactions. When you’ve conditioned yourself to flirt as long as I have, you get used to acting in the moment. She gave me the phone back and I said I looked forward to seeing her and gave her hand a little squeeze. That surprised her. Not sure if it’s in a good or bad way.

She rode off and I caught up to my kids, who’d seen the number exchange. I really ought to hide things better from them, but the moment is everything. Instead of being terrifying, being in the moment has become thrilling.

Yeah, yeah, I know that I wrote about how I almost never write field reports… only to keep writing field reports. If I notice a situation that might have useful learning points for other guys I’ll write about it.

Author: The Red Quest

How can we live and be in society?

5 thoughts on “[FR] Met by accident on a bike”

  1. Great FR. I like it.

    >> life is like waiting at the light: if you don’t act quickly the opportunity goes away.

    Yes. I like that line. And to myself… “no one likes a hesitant man, not even that same hesitant man.”

    >> I’ve promised myself that I’m going to stop hitting on women and dating for a while in order to recover myself
    >> When you’ve conditioned yourself to flirt as long as I have, you get used to acting in the moment.

    I am sure you have your reasons for the former… and may you never lose access to the latter.

    >> I really ought to hide things better from them

    It is part of my personal story that my dad “hid things better” from me, so well, that I learned nothing about mating/dating from him… and had to learn from a bunch of jackasses on the internet. I have a lot of love/respect for those jackasses… I may be one of them… but still, thanks Dad.

    I found out in my late 30s that my dad met my mom doing fairly aggressive cold approach (he was talking to her from another moving car). I wouldn’t even believe it at first, argued with my mom. “It’s not like he put his hands down your pants,” I said. “Didn’t take him long to do that either,” she replied (a little bit bitter about it… they divorced when I was 3). I called my Dad the next day, and he denied it, until I pushed, then the got mad, told me to “be nice to girls” and I told him that was fucking BS… Jesus, Dad… you had skills to teach me, and you deliberately hid them, so that I would “be nice to girls?!” WTF. Way to look just like the rest of bluepill culture. #dadfail

    Turns out my Dad was a player, I just never knew it, as he was also very moralistic about the whole thing — many naturals are.

    But again… I had to spend years in later life, unlearning his “be nice” shit, and then getting a proper education. He essentially handicapped me, in the name of morality. This is an interesting theme in life… where we preach “live small” as a virtue. Something like that.

    Like

    1. I am sure you have your reasons for the former… and may you never lose access to the latter.

      Haha, that’s funny, I just wrote a long blather post about that topic. I don’t think I’ll ever lose the joy of flirting! Not till I die. I’ll be the old man picking the nurse’s tight ass. What are they going to do, arrest a 75-year-old guy?

      My kids are girls… it’s tough knowing how much to say. Their personalities are also very different from each other. Before I had kids I had all kinds of theories about what to do and how much to say and how I would say it. Now I don’t have any theories at all, and I often don’t know what to do. I do try to be as honest as I can, adjusted for their age, but it’s tough. Almost no one tells the truth about how things are between men and women. I’m trying to. Their mother is not helping matters, but that’s another story.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

