Men, game, and social media strategies

As far as I can tell, there are two good, functional social media strategies for guys thinking about the game. Strategy one is the one I follow: no or minimal presence. I have an Instagram account but don’t use it and have never used it, despite my interest in photography. I have a Snapchat account but only use it for 1:1 communication. Facebook is there mostly so I can chat with women, again 1:1. Some women who disappear on text will reappear when contacted through other mediums, and this has led me to some lays. Less is more with any form of communication (which is a form of scarce, valuable attention).

The other strategy is to fully play and invest in the social media game. That means consciously only posting pictures that demonstrate higher value, which usually means action shots, or shots of you with lots of different pretty girls who provide a form of social proof. To me this looks hard to pull off, try-too-hard, and exhausting, but it seems possible to leverage this when it’s combined with other game. I don’t think the cost-benefit is there, but I know a couple guys who seem to work this angle. Don’t know how successful it is because everyone lies about their sex lives, but I suppose it’s possible to generate lays via social media for some guys.

In either case, public interaction with a girl’s statuses or pics should be minimal or nonexistent. You’re a busy guy living in the real world who isn’t here to water thirsty women. We’ve all seen the thirsty “like cascades” any moderately attractive woman gets when she posts a basic pic of herself in a dress or bikini. Those “likes” are obvious demonstrations of lower value. I’d love to omit this paragraph as being bloody obvious but these things happen all the time. I rarely use social media and even I see them. Facebook and Instagram appear to be the worst platforms for attention-seeking girls. When I hear girls talking about them I like to poke fun at their interest in lame guys who are creeping on them online all day. Usually this gets laughs and good engagement. Girls know the validation is shallow but they crave it anyway.

Most guys I know seem to choose neither good strategy. They use social media way too much. They post dumb shit that demonstrates lower value. They toss off thirsty “likes” and compliments. They’re promiscuous, unconscious users who don’t integrate any strategy into what they do, and in the process they waste their effort. Don’t be those guys. Most of the guys I work with, especially the ones who aren’t getting ahead, do this. Guys who give their attention away show that their attention has no value.

Everything you say, write, or post on social media can come back to haunt you. I’ve seen this happen.

Someone just posted about the value stoicism has in their life. I loved that post. Social media is usually the opposite of stoicism. Before you post, stop to ask: 1) will this post help move me toward getting laid? 2) what good thing can happen as a result of this post? 3) what would Marcus Aurelius do this position? 4) what does the man I admire most do on social media (I thought hard about this one… the guys I admire most, who I actually know, don’t have much time for this shit, and they know it’s not going to get them laid).

When you check social media and post there, what are you not doing? You’re not thinking for yourself. You’re not at the gym. You’re not learning new skills, like Shibari or riding a motorcycle or photography. You’re in an intermediate state that is neither being nor doing. The guys who pursue the second strategy I mentioned above are at least consciously pursuintg their goals via social media. I’ve read guys saying social media is poison and while I don’t 100% agree they have a point.

Social media is video games for women, and men should play a better game. Most guys have a short window (one month at most, often just a week) between meeting a woman and getting her in bed. Social media interaction is not a good way to spend that time and if anything demonstrates lower value. Doing things is man frame, while talking about things is female frame. Prefer to do things. Are you watching others, or are others watching you? Why? You should be able to answer the question. When you have sexual abundance, you won’t care much about social media.

Plus: “The only guys who like your pictures are the ones you don’t want to like your pictures.”

Author: The Red Quest

How can we live and be in society?

19 thoughts on “Men, game, and social media strategies”

Leave a comment